The Meliorist – It takes you…











{June 15, 2007}   Are you a feminist?

You Are 91% Feminist


You are a total feminist. This doesn’t mean you’re a man hater (in fact, you may be a man).
You just think that men and women should be treated equally. It’s a simple idea but somehow complicated for the world to put into action.

Are You a Feminist?

This is perhaps one of the worst quizzes I’ve ever taken and the fact that some people might score less than 50% on it is a little disturbing to say the least (sorry CaraMichele).  I guess I never really consider that there are still (probably a lot of) people who still hold such traditional views….I guess that just makes it all the more apparent that feminist activism still needs to occur.  I try to remain somewhat open to ideas that do not agree with mine and I can certainly see a couple of these questions being answered in the negative by large portions of the public (e.g. the one about two women being able to have and raise children).  I think it would be interesting to explore the REASONS behind the responses given…but, that’s a little complicated for Blogthings to handle, I’m sure! 

After working with young adults in the college context at both a large public university and a small, Christian university over the last decade, I realize that feminism may be backsliding.  I think that so much of our society today takes for granted the equality of women that the real story often disappears behind a veil of ignorance.  Take for example the recent findings reported by the AFLCIO:

In 2007, women are paid only 77 cents for every dollar a man is paid, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. Economist Evelyn Murphy, president and founder of The WAGE Project, estimates the wage gap costs the average full-time U.S. woman worker between $700,000 and $2 million over the course of her work life.

Is this fair?  Are women still only 2/3 of a person in the work world?  I have heard repeated complaints that men are losing out on good jobs to women simply because of their gender.  But, if this is true, how are women still only making 2/3 of what a man does?  Could it be that women are getting hired for “good” jobs because they are just as qualified but won’t have to be paid as much in the end?  Could it be that women are getting hired because they are even MORE qualified but willing to work for less?  I guess I’ll continue to be a feminist (or at least 90% of one) until I can honestly say that women are treated as a whole person, not just 2/3 of one in our society.

So, are you a feminist?  Or at least 2/3 of one?

no worries. contrasting viewpoints don’t disturb me. i’m a happily and vocally traditional female in a lot of ways. but my chickfriends span the spectrum. and one of the beauty parts of being an american girl/woman is that we each get to choose who we are. love it. 😉

p.s. gender shouldn’t determine wage. period. this 34% feminist 100% agrees with you on that one. and frankly, i don’t understand why the gender/wage disparity still exists.



interesting timing — i found the link to the quiz on veiled glory’s blog (her feminist score is 27%) and today she posts about gender/wage inequality, too:

“Most likely, over the course of my life, I will earn aggregately less than my husband. Even if we have the same job description; men just earn more. Unfair? I don’t think so, but you can haggle over it in the comments.”

i do think it’s unfair (and i will comment on her blog), but this just goes to show that there’s diversity even among “non-feminists.”

veiled glory link: http://veiledglory.wordpress.com/2007/06/15/work-identity-and-womanhood/



cbrunette says:

I clarified my points on this idea here:

http://veiledglory.wordpress.com/2007/06/18/economics-and-women/



Thank’s for the information…i never knew that women’s are getting such treatment in the YO YO land..(US)

i havent seen Gender based wage disparity in india as such.As far as software industry goes equity is still there.But we got other problems which are more grave,cruel and which clearly shows the baised nature against women.

M still a feminist…



[…] relates back to my earlier “Are you a Feminist?” post and the discussion that happened.  I have a feeling that Veiled Glory is a big believer in […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
