The Meliorist – It takes you…











{June 7, 2007}   Meliorism (mēl’yə-rĭz’əm)

n.   The belief that improvement of society depends on human effort. (dictionary.com)

I consider myself a meliorist.  I do believe that improving society depends on the efforts of humans…my efforts, your efforts, the efforts of all those around us.  I think we can easily lose sight of this belief if we aren’t careful (or lucky).  But, daily there are so many things that happen that reminds me that others are meliorists too. 

Take today for example – it was a bad day, I was feeling pretty sorry for myself.  Things haven’t been going my way financially speaking, relationships are not as good as they could be, etc., etc.  I decided to get my hair cut to make myself feel better, but the usual place I go had already closed.  I began to drive around town and happened on a hair place with a bunch of balloons out in front.  I went in, excited to find a place open on a Sunday afternoon and lo-and-behold, they were having a “cut-a-thon” – raising funds for Couture for Cancer.  They were offering haircuts at $30 (a discount over their usual rate) and goody bag with Redken items for $10 donations.  The owner, it turns out, has cancer and the Couture for Cancer raises funds to provide wigs of real hair to cancer sufferers.  This may not seem like a big deal to those of you who have no personal experience with cancer, but my mom’s two bouts of cancer showed me how important a good wig can be.  Attitude is everything when you’re fighting cancer and a good wig (as opposed to one that looks fake and feels uncomfortable) can make all the difference in the world to a chemo patient.  So, I was happy to pay my $30, get a great haircut, donate an extra $20 and get two great Redken products. 

So, this is the foundation of this blog – to encourage, report on, provide resources for, and to hopefully live the belief – that we can make the world a better place, one (perhaps small) action at a time.  So, I encourage any readers of the blog to submit their projects, tell their stories, and direct others to possible resources.  Let’s see how many meliorists we can find in the world!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
